In Prince Edward Island qualifications are, in Charlottetown and Georgetown, owner or occupier of real estate of yearly value of \$6 for 6 months before teste of writ; doing of statute labour for 12 months and residence for same period in electoral division; paying of poll tax and residence for 12 months.

The disqualifications (other than those of Federal officers) are:

Ontario.—Judges of Supreme Court of Canada and of Ontario, of Exchequer Court and County Courts; Clerks of the Peace, County Crown Attorneys, Registrars, Sheriffs and their Deputies, Deputy Clerks of the Crown, agents for the sale of Crown lands; Stipendiary Magistrates, Police Magistrates of cities of 30,000 inhabitants; imprisoned criminals, lunatics and paupers; Returning officers, election clerks persons engaged as counsel, agents and solicitors or persons interested in the elections owing to pecuniary considerations promised or paid; unenfranchised Indians.

The Federal officers disqualified from voting in provincial elections in

Ontario are:

Postmasters in towns and cities.

Officers of the customs and excise.

Quebec.—Same as in province of Ontario and in addition collectors of provincial revenue and officers and men of the provincial police force; contractors till after 6 months from the close of their contracts with the Dominion or Provincial Governments; absentees (other than owners) if in the United States for a year and a day unless they have returned with their families for a month before election day, with intention to reside in province.

No Federal officers of the several departments are disqualified in the province of Quebec.

New Brunswick.—Judges of the Supreme Court of the province, the Sheriffs (each in the county of which he is sheriff); criminals in jail; lunatics and paupers and Indians.

No Federal officers as such are disqualified.

Nova Scotia.—Employees of the Crown land office and of local public works and mine office; paupers and all employees in receipt of wages, &c., within 15 days before election in the Customs, Inland Revenue, Government railway or post office, but not to extend to postmasters, post office keeper, way post keeper or mail courier.

Prince Edward Island.—The following are disqualified to vote in provincial elections. Employees (who have received money 30 days before election day) of Departments of Railways, Marine and Fisheries, Customs, Inland Revenue, Justice, Finance, Government Savings Bank, Public Works and Post Office.

Voting in elections is by ballot. The North-west Territories, previously to 1894, had open voting; chap. 15 of Acts of 1894 changed that mode to the one adopted in all the other provinces.

No property qualification is demanded from a member of the Commons, nor is he limited to a residence in the district for which he is elected.

General elections are simultaneous throughout the Dominion of Canada.